Results of the FSC'22 Final Round

September 11th, 2022 - 10:00 pm
News subject

On September 9th, the final concert of the 3rd International Music Composition Competition for Symphony Orchestra “Future Symphony“ took place at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall. Five world premieres were performed by Future Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Adomas Morkūnas-Budrys.

The Grand Prix – Jasper de Bock (The Netherlands 🇳🇱) with the composition „Was auch geschieht?“. The Composer received a 1500 € cash prize. His composition is going to be performed once more by the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas).

Laureate diplomas – Roman Czura (Poland 🇵🇱 / Germany 🇩🇪) with the composition „Black is Black“ & Przemysław Scheller with the composition „Beyond the Threshold“. The two shared the prize pool of 1500 € in equal parts.

Saulius Karosas Foundation Special Prize “for the best Lithuanian author” – Lukas Butkus (Lithuania 🇱🇹) with the composition „Agalma“.

Audience Sympathy Prize – David John Roche (United Kingdom 🇬🇧 / Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿) with the composition „Edges of Sincerity“.

Future Symphony Orchestra Sympathy Prize – Jasper de Bock (The Netherlands 🇳🇱) with the composition „Was auch geschieht?“.

The 3rd Future Symphony Competition has received 22 scores from 14 different countries: Australia, China, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Mexico, The Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom and United States of America.

Compositions for the final concert were selected by the 1st round jury committee: composer and conductor Vykintas Baltakas (chairman, Lithuania), composer Jānis Petraškevičs (Latvia), conductor Modestas Barkauskas (Lithuania) and composer Rita Mačiliūnaitė (Lithuania).

Winners were selected by the 2nd round jury committee: composer and musicologist Mārtiņš Viļums (chairman, Latvia/Lithuania), composer and sound artist Yannis Kyriakides, composer and musicologist Justė Janulytė (Lithuania), conductor Modestas Pitrėnas (Lithuania), composer and pianist Ayal Adler (Israel) and conductor and composer Gediminas Gelgotas (Lithuania).

The live broadcast of the final concert from the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall can be rewatched on our YouTube channel. Furthermore, the concert recording will be broadcast by LRT KLASIKA.