News archive

Results of the FSC'22 Final Round
September 11th, 2022 - 10:00 pm

On September 9th, the final concert of the 3rd International Music Composition Competition for Symphony Orchestra “Future Symphony“ took place at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall. Five world premieres were performed by Future Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Adomas Morkūnas-Budrys.

The Grand Prix – Jasper de Bock (The Netherlands 🇳🇱) with the composition „Was auch geschieht?“. The Composer received a 1500 € cash prize. His composition is going to be performed once more by the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Modestas Pitrėnas).

Laureate diplomas – Roman Czura (Poland 🇵🇱 / Germany 🇩🇪) with the composition „Black is Black“ & Przemysław Scheller with the composition „Beyond the Threshold“. The two shared the prize pool of 1500 € in equal parts.

Saulius Karosas Foundation Special Prize “for the best Lithuanian author” – Lukas Butkus (Lithuania 🇱🇹) with the composition „Agalma“.

Audience Sympathy Prize – David John Roche (United Kingdom 🇬🇧 / Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿) with the composition „Edges of Sincerity“.

Future Symphony Orchestra Sympathy Prize – Jasper de Bock (The Netherlands 🇳🇱) with the composition „Was auch geschieht?“.

The 3rd Future Symphony Competition has received 22 scores from 14 different countries: Australia, China, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Mexico, The Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom and United States of America.

Compositions for the final concert were selected by the 1st round jury committee: composer and conductor Vykintas Baltakas (chairman, Lithuania), composer Jānis Petraškevičs (Latvia), conductor Modestas Barkauskas (Lithuania) and composer Rita Mačiliūnaitė (Lithuania).

Winners were selected by the 2nd round jury committee: composer and musicologist Mārtiņš Viļums (chairman, Latvia/Lithuania), composer and sound artist Yannis Kyriakides, composer and musicologist Justė Janulytė (Lithuania), conductor Modestas Pitrėnas (Lithuania), composer and pianist Ayal Adler (Israel) and conductor and composer Gediminas Gelgotas (Lithuania).

The live broadcast of the final concert from the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall can be rewatched on our YouTube channel. Furthermore, the concert recording will be broadcast by LRT KLASIKA.

Live Stream of the FSC'22 Final Concert
September 8th, 2022 - 6:00 pm

Tickets to the final concert of the Competition are sold out! The premiere evening is tomorrow, September 9th, the concert will start at 6:30 p.m.

For those who did not manage to register for tickets, we will organize a live broadcast – starting tomorrow at 5:30 p.m. you will find it at the top of our page at

Later, a recording of the concert will be played on the air of the official broadcaster of the competition, LRT KLASIKA. We look forward to meeting you live or on the airwaves!

This project is financed by the Lithuanian Council for Culture, Association LATGA and Vilnius City Municipality. Founding sponsor: Mr. Gediminas Kuprevičius.

Meet the finalists of FSC'22!
August 23rd, 2022 - 8:00 pm

The finalists of this years edition of the Future Symphony Competition hail from five different european countries:

The Netherlands 🇳🇱 – Lithuania 🇱🇹 – Poland 🇵🇱 – Germany 🇩🇪 – United Kingdom 🇬🇧 / Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿

The musicians of Future Symphony Orchestra are already rehearsing the five pieces that will be premiered on the 9th of September in the Lithuanian National Philharmonic in Vilnius (Invitations to the final concert are available here).

Meanwhile, we invite you to get acquainted with the authors' biographies which you will find at:

Important Update
July 25th, 2022 - 2:00 pm

The organizational committee has noticed a severe violation of the Regulations of the Competition (article IX, the principle of anonymity) that resulted in the disqualification of Dario Michelon (Italy) from the competition.

The investigation of the incident revealed that the title of Michelon's composition was publicly disclosed due to the negligence of a third person, who has a pedagogical relation with the former finalist. We would like to announce that David Roche (United Kingdom) becomes the new finalist in the competition. His composition will be performed at the final concert and will compete for the prizes.

Team FS would like to emphasize that the principle of anonymity is to be strictly maintained throughout the competition until the award ceremony.

Announcement of the 1st Round Results
July 20th, 2022 - 12:00 pm

We are excited to announce the finalists of the 3rd Future Symphony Competition!

This year, 22 composers from 14 countries have submitted their scores. The five finalists were chosen by the 1st round jury committee. The chosen compositions will be premiered on September 9th, 6:30 p.m. at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall.

Collaboration with LNSO
April 11th, 2022 - 8:00 pm

This year the Grand Prix winning composition will be performed by the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO) in the season 2022–2023.

This exclusive opportunity is made possible by Mr. Modestas Pitrenas, Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the LNSO, and Mrs. Rūta Prusevičienė, General Director of the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society.

Registration to the 3rd Future Symphony Competition
March 1st, 2022 - 6:00 pm

We would like to express our sincere gratitude to Lietuvos kultūros taryba, Asociacija LATGA, Mr. Gediminas Kuprevičius, Vilniaus miesto savivaldybė, Lithuanian National Philharmonic (Filharmonija) and Saulius Karosas Foundation for making the Future Symphony Competition possible!

Their generosity enables us to reduce the application fee to 50 EUR. There is no early application fee anymore.

The opening of the registration platform is postponed. It will open up by March 10th.

We kindly remind you, that the score submission deadline is the 30th of June.

Results of the 1st Round
July 20th, 2020 - 10:00 pm

We are excited to announce 7 finalists of the 2nd Future Symphony Competition! Participants listed below proceed to the 2nd round of the competition:

🇵🇱🇩🇪 Roman Czura
🇲🇽 Charles Philip Daniels Torres
🇱🇹 Jievaras Jasinskis
🇱🇹 Andrius Maslekovas
🇭🇺 Apor Szüts
🇮🇹 Daniele Testa
🇬🇷 Miran Tsalikian

Congratulations to the composers! Their compositions will be performed in a concert on the 17th of September at Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall in Vilnius.

1st round’s jury members were:

Žibuoklė Martinaitytė
Mykolas Natalevičius
Karolis Variakojis

30 applications from even 20 different countries have been received for the 1st round.

here now! We would like to remind you that application fee until the 5th of April 2020 is 50 eur, from April 6th 2020 onwards is 80 EUR.

Also we inform you about the slight changes of the orchestration for the application score. You can find the final instrumentation limits for this years competition here.

Show older news